Arugula, Chickpea, Tomato, and Feta Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

IMG_3426Sunday afternoon I had a seriously successful food prepping day that involved everything from blanching kale and green beans to mixing up some fresh basil pesto and this easy vinaigrette that’s perfect for literally anything.  I am such a fan of taking a little time on the weekend to do as much kitchen busy work that I can in order to save me a ton of hassle during the busy week.  Since I usually only cook for myself on a day to day basis, I always make two to four servings of whatever I’m making and then stock my fridge with leftovers that I actually look forward to eating and can pack easily when I’m on the go.  I put this salad together for lunch on Sunday, and it was so good I packed an exact replica for lunch today.  It’s got plenty of filling fiber and protein from the chickpeas, healthy fat from the dressing, and has there ever been a time when adding feta was a bad idea? Another tasty add-in would have been my go-to avocado, but sadly none of mine were ripe enough. Recipe makes a single salad but with extra vinaigrette to save.

Ingredients

2-3 cups fresh arugula

1/2 c canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/2 chopped roma tomato

1/4 c crumbled feta

Lemon Vinaigrette

1/4 c lemon juice

1/4 c loosely packed fresh parsley (feel free to play with different herbs in this)

2 t lemon zest

2 garlic cloves

1/2 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1/4 c olive oil

Combine everything but the oil in a food processor until the garlic and parsley are finely chopped.  Then stream in the olive oil.  This recipe makes enough for about 4-6 servings of vinaigrette.

Leave a Reply

