Rejoice in the Suffering (An opportunity, not an obligation)

I want to start off by explaining the lack of blogging for almost two weeks.  In the past I’ve tried to post a couple times a week at least, and I really hate not keeping my new little project consistent and fresh.  I promise I’ll make an effort to catch up a little this week now that I’ve had time to take a breath and re-focus.
Let’s just say I’ve experienced a recent turn of events that made me drastically rearrange my priorities for the moment.  Long story short (and I mean long), I’m now scheduled to take the DAT (Dental Admission Test) August 29th after originally planning on waiting until either January or June to ensure I’d have a free month of no other obligations before the test to devote to all-out studying. However, as usual, God sent me a wake-up call that I’m not in control of every last detail of my life despite my excessive planning and striving to stay on top of all my deadlines and schedules.  His sense of humor is something else because I had explained to a few people that my summer was seeming a bit on the boring side.  I know this is all in His time and not mine, so I’m turning it over to Him and trusting in His crazy awesome (even if sometimes overwhelming) plan for my life.  August turned out to be the only (semi) realistic time I could try to take it because I knew with a full load of upper-level classes, a new demanding job, and an ASDA officer position I could not manage to make time to study during the fall semester for a test that covers three years of undergrad science material.  I’m still taking six hours of summer school starting Wednesday, so finding several hours a day to study for the DAT on top of that for about two months will be a challenge, but I’m more than ready to get this ball rolling as the first step of a long process to get into my choice of dental school (which is just another first step of an even longer process).  This picture pretty much explains my life right now.
IMG_3910 I’ll be sure to update how my studying is going as I trudge through all this massive amount of information and share what God is doing in my life in this time of fully relying on Him for my strength and perseverance.  When I grow weary from writing organic chemistry reactions, memorizing every step of embryonic development, or when I find myself discouraged thinking of how much emphasis this test has on my future, here are some of the verses that always refresh my point of view:
1 Corinthians 15:58
“Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always ABOUNDING in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.”
Romans 5:3-5
“More than that, we REJOICE IN OUR SUFFERINGS, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”
Psalm 142:3a
“When my spirit faints within me, You know my way!”
Colossians 1:11
“May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all ENDURANCE and PATIENCE with JOY.”
Galatians 6:9
“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will REAP, if we do not give up.”
Psalm 20:4
“May he grant you your heart’s desire and fulfill all your plans.”
Romans 8:28 (AMP)
“We are assured and know that [God being a partner in their labor] all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and are called according to [His] design and purpose.”

P.S. Portobello burger recipe will be going up tomorrow, so don’t worry – I’ll still make time to eat good and share!

Leave a Reply

