Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

What do I naturally do to avoid reading Beowulf for my British Literature class or doing countless DAT chemistry practice problems? Of course, make a batch of my latest obsession. Hummus has always been a regular on my grocery list for a quick snack or sandwich spread.  This stuff is leaps and bounds better than store-bought, and it just tastes so fresh like I’m doing my body a favor by steering clear of just one less packaged food item.  It takes less than five minutes to make if you have all the ingredients, and again this a time when you can feel free to improvise.  Basically throw some chickpeas, tahini (jarred sesame seed paste, can find at most stores now) and whatever else you have in a food processor and there you have it – hummus! Since I made my first batch a couple days ago and another today, I’ve centered my dinner around it more than one night, and it’s gone on every sandwich and wrap and has even been made into salad dressing because I love it so much.  Today’s lunch it filled a wheat tortilla with avocado, spinach, and parmesan. It’s very light on the oil (only 1 T in the whole thing), and it’s packed with veggies and protein! The addition of the roasted pepper almost reminds me of authentic baba ganoush (like hummus but with roasted eggplant).  My first batch I even added zucchini, but this time I threw the spinach in instead.  Some other ideas I want to play with are cilantro/chipotle and olive/sun-dried tomato.  I finished it with more paprika and just a drizzle of olive oil.

IMG_4015

Ingredients

3/4 cup canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1/4 c chopped roasted red pepper (jarred or homemade)

Large handful fresh spinach

3 cloves garlic

2 T lemon juice

3 T tahini

1 T finely grated parmesan

1 T olive oil

2 T water (or until desired consistency)

1/2 t Italian herb blend

1/4 t paprika

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Add everything to a food processor and mix until smooth!

Leave a Reply

