Roasted Veggie Power Salad with Hummus Dressing and English Muffin Croutons

Sunday – a day for rest, refreshment, and recharging for the week ahead.  As much as I would love to say I spend my Sunday afternoons napping, soaking up the summer sun, or reading a good book, that is far from reality most of the time. I do love Sundays because of my amazing church home and always look forward to the much-needed time of worship and a good word. After that though, I usually have to hit the ground running (in today’s case – literally). In a school-minded college student’s vocab, Sunday is code for “Time to catch up on all that studying I didn’t do this weekend.”

This is my brit lit and spanish professors. The joys of summer school..

This is my brit lit and spanish professors. The joys of summer school..

Also, I always seem to wake up with a fresh motivation to workout hard and eat especially healthy on Sundays in an effort to somehow cancel out the weekend’s relaxed mindset of no alarm clocks, the occasional pizza, and social life revolved around fro-yo and coffee shops.  IMG_4122Today I went for my longest run in awhile on the indoor track (after my first half-marathon in March and the dreadful summer months in TX, I definitely let up a lot in my long distance running) which felt surprisingly good, followed by an intense core circuit. I then spent the majority of my afternoon reading Middle English literature and writing another lack-luster essay for my summer class.  I did get to enjoy a time of catching up with a close friend who I haven’t seen all summer and has been living a much more adventurous life than me the past couple of months.  I’ve definitely been living vicariously through my friends’ thrilling summers via Facebook and Instagram pics.  To keep my healthy trend rolling, I had this made in time for dinner to sit down to my one TV show I’ve still made time for this summer, The Next Food Network Star. I threw this salad together and it was just too good not to share.  Again, this is a “non-recipe,” since salads are almost always very versatile and it’s not like you can really mess it up.  Remember that hummus I was so excited about last time? It’s back! (I made a slightly different batch since then, but same idea).

IMG_4137

Ingredients

Broccoli

Cauliflower

Yellow Squash

Olive oil

Balsamic vinegar

S&P/Italian herb blend/garlic/crushed red pepper

Grated Romano

Spring Mix Greens

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (check my last post out)

Lemon

Light agave

Half an English muffin

Directions

For the veggies, roughly chop, season, drizzle (or spray) with olive oil, a couple splashes balsamic vinegar, and a light dusting of Romano. Roast at 375 for about 15 minutes or until done to your preference.  For the dressing, I used a couple tablespoons of hummus and thinned it out with extra lemon juice, a splash of balsamic, and just a touch of agave for sweetness.   Then I microwaved it for 20 seconds just to meld the flavors together (I’m a fan of warm toppings and dressing for certain salads).  Cut the muffin into small cubes and toss with about a teaspoon of oil, spices, and a pinch of Romano.  Bake/toast at 350 (I did these in the toaster oven while the veggies were roasting) for about 15 minutes or until golden brown and slightly crunchy but still with the good doughy “chew” of an English muffin.  Top a heaping bed of greens with the veggies, a generous drizzle of the hummus, the fresh croutons, and a final dusting of Romano. Dig in and enjoy this light but flavorful salad, perfect for summer.

Leave a Reply

