Easy BBQ Chicken Pizza for One

I remember the first time I heard of BBQ chicken pizza a few years ago as it was gaining popularity in the food scene.  Being a mostly pizza-purist, obsessed with all things Italian and secretly hoping it’s somewhere in my family tree (a lost cause, I know), I was slightly appalled at the idea of such an American concept tainting the art of real pizza.  I eventually decided I’d loosen up and try it one day, not expecting to be impressed. Well, I admit I was wrong. I now understand the craving for the unexpected, slightly sweet and smoky BBQ flavor stealing the show from the familiar tomato sauce.  Caramelized onions are a key supporting role, and I personally love the addition of a little more veg and fresh cilantro.  Another great thing about this recipe is there’s no kneading or rising of homemade dough – don’t get me wrong, it’s still the best way to go. However, when you’re up to your eyeballs in homework and studying like me, pizza on the table in less than 20 minutes is simply more appealing.  It also lightens it up in terms of total calories and carbs.

Ingredients

1 whole wheat tortilla

Cooking spray or extra virgin olive oil

2 oz sliced rotisserie chicken (or deli turkey, cooked chicken breast, etc.)

1-2 T BBQ sauce

1/4 c bell pepper- any color, diced

1/4 c  onion, diced

Garlic powder/cumin/chili powder/paprika/crushed red pepper to taste

S&P to taste

1 oz shredded part-skim mozzarella

1/2 oz shredded extra sharp cheddar

Fresh green onion

Fresh cilantro

1/4 avocado, thinly sliced

Directions

Preheat oven (or toaster oven) to 450. I used my pizza stone, so if you have one have it in your oven while preheating. If not, a small baking sheet will work fine.  Spray the tortilla with a little bit of oil on both sides and put in on the stone by itself for a few minutes to help it crisp up before adding the toppings. Combine the chopped chicken and BBQ sauce and set aside. Saute the onion and pepper in a little bit of oil or cooking spray over medium heat with spices for about 5 minutes, or until the onions are softened. After the tortilla has been baking a few minutes, take it out and top with BBQ mixture, veggies, and cheeses.  Bake for about 10 more minutes or until the cheese is melted and the tortilla is as crispy as you’d like.  Finish off the pizza with the avocado, fresh green onion, cilantro, and try not to drool over that sweet, smoky, spicy and satisfying little pie.

IMG_4156

One thought on “Easy BBQ Chicken Pizza for One

Leave a Reply

