You Are My Vision

84a4248acc8a66c103ccb91a1a508ed7
This song has always been one of my absolute favorites, and every time I come back to it, I discover more truth, promises, and refreshment from the lyrics.  This contemporary version is by the incredible band Rend Collective Experiment (http://rendcollective.com/media/). If for some reason you don’t know this band, go listen to them NOW.  They are an acoustic/folk-y Christian group from Ireland making some of the most authentic and worshipful art abounding with musicianship.

Lately, I have really been in need of some serious peace and renewal.  This current season of my life is one of immense pressure and being stretched so thin between my various commitments and obligations. As much as I don’t want to, I find myself constantly dwelling on my stress that the demanding and distracting world loads on me, only to be more desperate for relief.  Despite the feeling of overwhelming chaos at times, my hope is always found in Christ alone.

I know that God only desires to give me a future and a hope (Jer. 29:11), so why do I even give a second thought of worry to wondering how everything will turn out in the end? He promises to work all things together for my good, and I am continually overwhelmed by his faithfulness in my life.  He has called me to walk the challenging path I’m on, so I have to trust that He will complete the work He’s started in me (Phil 1:6). When I come back to realizing that God is my one true vision, as Francesca Battistelli sings, everything else grows strangely dim.  Nothing this world has to offer can fill me and make me whole like being in His presence.  Dwelling on the truth of these words tonight, and laying everything I have at His feet.  When I get past my selfish desires and anguishing over how I can earn my own way to accomplishing what I want, it frees me to anticipate the even greater things He has in store for my future, allowing me to dream even bigger with Him.

You are my VISION, O King of my heart.

NOTHING else satisfies, only You Lord.

You are my BEST THOUGHT by day or by night.

Waking or sleeping, Your presence, my LIGHT.

 You are my WISDOM, You are my TRUE word.

I ever with You, and You WITH ME Lord.

You’re my GREAT Father, and I’m your true son.

You dwell inside me, together we’re ONE.

You are my battle-shield, sword for the fight.

You are my dignity, You’re my DELIGHT.

You’re my soul’s SHELTER, and You’re my high tower.

Come raise me heavenward, O POWER of my power.

I don’t want riches or man’s EMPTY praise.

You’re my INHERITANCE, now and always.

You and You only, the FIRST in my heart.

High king of Heaven, my TREASURE You are.

High king of Heaven, when victory’s WON

May I reach Heaven’s JOY, O bright Heaven’s Son.

Heart of my own heart, WHATEVER befall

STILL be my vision, O ruler of all.

Leave a Reply

