Girls and Grub Weekly Roommate Dinner – Black Bean Burgers

In the midst of craziness that is my life as a probably over-committed college girl, my roommates and I have tried to be consistent on scheduling home-cooked dinners together a couple times a week.  It’s always great to be able to look forward to some enjoyable down-time of food and fellowship.

Now that it’s the third week of the semester, my day-to-day schedule and activities have quickly picked up the pace, and I’m finding myself in that stage when my denial and lack of focus gets smacked by inescapably real obligations.

For the most part, I really am enjoying all my classes so far, and my new job has been going great. My biggest concern right now is a little thing called a 10-page biblical/textual/research paper (on ANYthing on Jesus and the Gospels) that’s very daunting with a rapidly approaching due date. When my class was asking about the length and depth of the paper, my professor (who’s actually really awesome but still intimidating at times) simply commented, “You could write an entire doctoral thesis on one verse in the Bible.” I’m sure I’ll write another post soon about this impossibly challenging but hopefully rewarding assignment. Sorry I went off a little, but I guess you can tell what’s on my brain at the moment.

Well what’s the best way to unwind from an eventful couple of days? Cook up some burgers and chips. Not your average-Joe burgers and chips, though. I made Skinnytaste’s black bean burgers with a few tweaks here and there and a side of fresh baked sweet potato chips – good and good for you! I make my own avocado-lime-yogurt sauce for it instead of the exact one listed here, and the basics for my sweet potato chips can be found here. I served the burgers on toasted English muffins and topped them with a combo of sharp cheddar and pepper jack, caramelized onions, and spinach. My nowhere-near-vegetarian friends loved the meal, and an added plus of cooking for my roommates is someone else does the dishes.

IMG_0231

Leave a Reply

