New month, new goals

I love the first day of a new month.  This one marks the beginning of my absolute favorite time of year.  November through January is what I look forward to all year because of the holiday season, “cold” weather, my early January birthday (which happens to be a really fun one this year), plus countless other little things that just make me smile this time of year .  I also am guilty of being bound to the concept of orderly time and only thinking I can take on new projects, goals, etc. with a calendar turn of a page – whether it be yearly, monthly, or weekly. That being said, with the first of November here, I have lots of little things to add to my monthly bucket list (in no particular order)…

abe5a96faa64137538ae640a173c1594

1. Write my personal statement.  This is a major component of my dental school applications, and it’s my chance to show schools what makes me ME.  I get to put an actual personality with those boring (but hopefully attention-grabbing) statistics that they’ll see first.   5300 characters to express why I want to be a dentist, and basically why they should give me a spot in their class over all the other applicants.  Also, because I want to apply to competitive out of state schools as well, this can be what makes them find it impossible to reject me simply because of my residential status.

dd53f4c2a2db27c0ecec4a68127a0e43

2. Fall in love with running again (Run 3x a week and get my base mileage back up for Bearathon training). I’m not officially starting my training “plan” until after Christmas (again, with the calendar concept), but I have GOT to get my endurance back to where it needs to be to even begin to think about doing those long runs on the weekend.  I also want to supplement with the Insanity workouts that I absolutely loved this summer.  Last year when I ran the half marathon for the first time, the fall semester before I was enrolled in a “running class” for a fitness credit for my degree plan.  I know I haven’t done as much consistent running this semester, but I’m hoping that since I’ve at least done the training before and am a lot stronger than last year, I can get back in the groove in a little less time.  This afternoon I actually went on my longest run of the semester along the Brazos, and it sparked that fire I have deep down that makes me believe I can call myself a “runner.” More on that later…

0c8464d868dac716e56d7733526b2153

3. Prep for healthy meals during the week all month long to counteract the upcoming holiday caloric craziness.  I’m vowing to spend some more time to actually plan and put together well rounded, veggie focused meals on a daily basis.  Also, I’ve got to nip my sweet tooth in the bud slightly for the next few weeks so that when the time does come during Thanksgiving and Christmas, the anticipated baking and desserts will be moderately indulged. We all know I’ve got to still be rocking the skinny jeans for my favorite wardrobe season.  As for those pumpkin cookies still sitting on the counter, well, they’re sort of healthy from all that Vitamin A, right?

9c59e153acb0c2249e1f7a08661a1807

 4. Start thinking about Christmas gifts earlier. I’m always that last-week shopper for my family and friends since I’m consumed with [the dreaded *F word* for stressed, GPA obsessed, pre-health science majors] at the end of the semester in December, and no matter how much thought I put into trying to give a thoughtful gift, it always turns out as some variation on a theme from previous years.

9baf3094cd5fabc478759d91b5b22737

5.  Brainstorm fundraising ideas for ASDA mission trip next semester. I’m so excited that the organization I’m an officer for, American Student Dental Association, is in the process of coordinating a dental mission trip for spring break.  Right now we’re looking at Costa Rica! 3 of my biggest passions – dentistry, missions, and travel – all in one trip! However, all things worth having/doing call for making big sacrifices (in this case, financially).

110217_alsad_westberry

6. Be intentional with my professors for the remaining part of the semester. I’ve already asked for my first two letters of recommendation (yay progress! The oral surgeon I worked with this summer and my current religion professor who actually knows me as more than a seat in his class), but I’m still struggling with what two science professors to ask as well as one other non-science faculty member.  It really is difficult to form meaningful relationships with professors that have 200+ other pre-health students with the same intentions as me and limited office hours.

I just thought this was funny :) I mean, I know they love me, but do they really KNOW me?

I just thought this was funny 🙂 I mean, I know they love me, but do they really KNOW me?

7. Increase my yearning for God’s Word.  I’ve been praying that God would find new ways to stir my heart to fill myself with His truth and promises in the Bible EVERY morning.  Sometimes I find myself just going through the motions of reading what I’ve read so many times in my life before, but not being fully present and expectant of the new things that God wants to reveal to me each day.  I really want to experience His presence in a fresh and deep way this month (and every month after).  

Word. Literally...

Word. Literally…

I could go on forever (if you should know anything about me, it’s that I’m a very goal-oriented girl), but I’ll stop there, because I really like the number 7. Yes, it’s the biblical number of perfection, but also because I’ve got to get back to enjoying my crazy wild Friday night. What? Homemade broccoli cheese soup, magazine reading, and TV on the couch isn’t your idea of a typical college kid’s weekend? Well, maybe I’m not your typical college kid…

Leave a Reply

