2014: I want to say “I lived.”

January 1st, 2014: Commence all the talk about new resolutions, hopes, and dreams for the coming year. Yes, I’m here to add to that cliche conversation, but I hope to not just be another person that makes this so-called list, advertise it for accountability, but never live up to some unrealistic expectations for myself this year. I do always like to make resolutions, but I don’t only do so on January 1st. I’m constantly aiming to better myself and my life with new goals – whether it be spiritual, physical, mental/intellectual, or emotional. Some are extremely specific, others have a much broader scope across all areas of my life.  I know some could care less about reading this type of thing, but I really do it more for myself to put these thoughts down in writing so I can look back on December 31st and say, “I lived.”

I actually heard this song by OneRepublic for the first time yesterday after I snagged some of the top albums of 2013 on a whim on iTunes for $6.99 each. As I listened to the lyrics I realized it was a perfect end of year/start of year anthem. I normally would go for a more spiritual song to declare my “anthem” at a specific season in my life (and I do have several of those too), but this one really hit home. In 2014, I want to soak up every thing that my 22nd year has in store (yes I’m turning 21 this week but birthdays are really a celebration of the end of that year of your life). I don’t want to just sit on the sidelines – I want to dive in wholeheartedly, be more spontaneous, and open my eyes to limitless possibilities. I know God wants to use me for big and sometimes scary things, and I want to be completely on board for whatever, whenever.  I don’t want to look back at this year and have any regrets or what-ifs.

I Lived 

Hope when you take that jump
You dont feel the fall
Hope when the water rises
You built a wall
Hope when the crowd screams
They’re screaming your name
Hope if everybody runs
You choose to stay

Hope that you fall in love
And it hurts so bad
The only way you can know
You gave it all you had
And I hope that you don’t suffer
But take the pain
Hope when the moment comes,
You’ll say

I did it all
I did it all
I owned every second that this world could give
I saw so many places, the things that I did
Yeah with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Hope that you spend your days
And they all add up
And when that sun goes down
Hope you raise your cup
I wish that I could witness
All your joy
And all your pain
But until my moment comes
I’ll say

I did it all
I did it all
I owned every second that this world could give
I saw so many places, the things that I did
Yeah with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Because I’m a list-maker at heart, here are some things that have been placed on my heart for the new year. I’ll keep it short and sweet, but each one has its own reason and significance. (in no particular order)

1. Fall in love with God’s Word like never before.
2. Diligently train (and enjoy it along the way) for my second half-marathon (not too sure about a PR this go around, though).
3. Be risky and bold for the sake of the God’s glory.
4. Don’t let schoolwork be the absolute center of my life. Keep life in perspective, always. “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” – Matt 6:33
5. Use my Crockpot way more often.
6. Keep my apartment clean and tidy enough that I wouldn’t mind anyone coming over at any time.
7. Stay diligent with cooking for weekly roommate dinners.
8. Host monthly dinner parties. Seriously why don’t I do this already?
9. Strive to be in the best shape of my life, but be happy and stay confident with myself all along the way; disregard the numbers.
10. Let my fingernails grow and stay long and healthy.
11. Keep my social media time in check and always be fully present in one place instead of fragmented in 37. Realize when I should maybe take a few days completely disconnected to reconnect to the things that matter.
12. Go on [get asked out on] dates. Good ol’ fashioned dates, people. Not any of this “talking” or shallow social media interaction. Yes, I’m almost 21 and have never dated in college. Godly single guys out there, help me out here. 😉
13. On that note, focus more on preparing my own heart for down the road instead of just waiting. If I have all these high expectations of what I’m looking for in a guy, shouldn’t I be striving to meet his of me?
14. Be seriously smart about saving money. Life’s about to get real pretty quick. Real hard.
15. Be intentional and go deeper with my friendships that I want to keep.
16.  Eat a clean, veggie-focused diet, but still enjoy and savor moderate indulgences. A balance of leafy greens and dark chocolate: a life of feasting and fasting.
17. Pray continually about where God is leading me for dental school (yep, still clueless at the moment).
18. Speaking of, rock my interviews, get accepted, and hopefully offered merit scholarships to the schools I’m applying for this summer. By this time next year I’ll probably know where I’m going! SO crazy.
19. Keep God’s plans above my own.
20. Land a full-time summer job working at some type of dental office to gain even more experience with the plus of actually doing more and getting paid (one is looking promising…we’ll see!)
21. Talk about my joys, not my problems.
22. Laugh without fear of the future (Prov 31:25).
23. Look for how God is revealing himself through every single thing of every single day, big and small.
24. Say “Yes” more to things while saying “No” more to other things. (so deep, right?)
25. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” – Matt 6:34
26. Do more of what makes me happy.
IMG_1786

One thought on “2014: I want to say “I lived.”

Leave a Reply

