(Part 2) So you’re done with high school: A college senior’s thoughts to new grads

Well I promised a continuation of my rambling advice about entering college, so here it is (even though it’s really only one more huge point I wanted to talk about). If you missed part 1 – check it out here:

https://eatpraylearnblog.wordpress.com/2014/05/31/so-youre-done-with-high-school-a-college-seniors-thoughts-to-new-grads/

srat

shout out to all my tri delt friends 😉

6. Do not feel like you need to rush Greek life to make friends or fit in. This is in no way meant to take a stab at all my incredible friends that do happen to be in a sorority/fraternity. They know I like to give them a hard time sometimes, but I’m sure all of them could convince you to rush after telling you that Greek life has done all these great things for them. I’m just speaking from personal experience, the decision I made that was best for me, and wanting to give you the other side of the story that too often gets no attention. Even though it feels like Greeks sometimes run the campus or are everywhere, in reality, it’s often the considerable minority (Baylor’s is surprisingly only around 25% I think). From the second you step on campus, you will get asked a very typical slew of questions from everyone you meet: where you’re from, what are you majoring in, which dorm you’re in, and lastly ARE YOU GOING TO RUSH? I hate this question just because it automatically places you in one of two categories. Well I’m telling you that if you answer no and your peers no longer want to pursue that friendship with you (aka potential sister/brotherhood), then they never really were going to be your close friends. Some people think that if they don’t join a frat/srat it will be impossible to make a lot of friends in college, network for business (oh how I get that answer every single time and why our business building – nicknamed Hankamer High – easily has the highest percentage of Greeks), or that they’ll miss out on something that apparently is advertised as a crucial part of normal college life. Here’s my opinion on it, and why I chose to answer no every single time I got that question.

  • Money. We’re already attending a very expensive private university, and several hundred to even a couple thousand more a semester would never fly with my parents. I’d rather any little extra bit be going to my future schooling/wedding fund personally.
  • Constant forced socializing. I am exactly down the middle of extravert and introvert. I really do love meeting new people and would consider myself a pretty outgoing, confident, and friendly person. I do not consider myself as someone who enjoys surface level small talk or having to attend meetings, mixers, socials, and several other events every week because I need “points.” Also, who actually has time to get ready and dress up that much? Between full course-loads and working multiple jobs I barely have time to sit down and eat dinner or even shower every single night.
  • Girls and way too many of them. Hello, estrogen overload. I love my good girl friends, I really do. But expecting to be like “sisters” with over 100 girls and never getting tired of hanging out with any of them? I’ve actually always considered myself as a girl that would almost rather have more guy friends than girls. I love hanging out with guys because, generally, there is no fake facade, catty gossip, diet talk, judging each other all the time, or emotional roller coasters complaining about being single or asking for advice about their breakups.
  •  Limited opportunities for non-Greek things. This was probably my biggest deciding factor. I am someone that loves to be involved in several different spheres and could never narrow myself to being in just one or two things and have the SAME friends that do everything together (aka srats/frats). It always seemed to me that girls in the same sororities were such tight friends (think, “On Wednesdays we wear pink”), but those sisters were the only kind of people they interacted with consistently. The main answer I give is usually something like, “I didn’t want to be in a sorority, because I didn’t want to JUST be in a sorority.” With all the crazy time commitments they have and events planned all the time, it didn’t seem like something I would want to sacrifice so much for in order to commit to only that one thing. I’m highly involved in ASDA, All-University Sing, the fitness department, academic jobs (SI, TA), Antioch Church, previously the choral department, and oh yeah – I’m a biology major with double minors applying to school to become a doctor (my grades kind of matter). I love having so many countless friends ALL over campus and from all kinds of backgrounds with such varying personalities, passions, things in common with me, etc. Variety really is the spice of life, and I just didn’t want to be so into sorority life that that’s all I really got to do in college. Finally, there was no way I wanted it to take time away from studying and succeeding in school which was in fact the reason I came to college: furthering my education.

Again, please don’t read this as me thinking I’m so above Greek life, and I completely realize that it is absolutely the best decision to rush for some people. Just don’t believe the lie that it also has to be for you.

One thought on “(Part 2) So you’re done with high school: A college senior’s thoughts to new grads

Leave a Reply

