September, Sic ‘Ems, and Spontaneity

I can’t believe how long I’ve made it without writing. I promise I really hate having such a long hiatus. Senior year has been off and ROLLING so fast, and I’ve just been so preoccupied with things like spontaneous concerts, watching record-breaking comeback football games (OMG SICEM BAYLOR BEARS – yes, I rushed the field so I’m sure you saw me on every sports channel and highlight reel), and Northeast/Ivy League adventures of dental school interviews. I will be writing soon with an update on my recent thoughts about it all and a look inside what these interviews are really like; long story short – I LIKE EVERY SCHOOL and am praying harder than ever before.

For a quick side note, I’m almost finished reading The Circle Maker, a book that will rock your prayer life and challenge you to pray hard, specific prayers circling your dreams that God has given you until a miracle comes through. Can you say financial provision and peace regarding overwhelming tuition costs and loan amounts?

I am resolving to be better about posting at least once a week with more specific topics because I find that when I go as long as a month without writing, I don’t even know where to begin.

Senior year is flying by way too quickly. Strong denial still persists about this whole graduation thing.

Baylor football is gaining more respect after each week’s display of what we’re made of, and we really love points and winning here in Wacotown. In other news, I’m still obsessed with Bryce Petty. Last night was INSANE.

petty

Histology is picking up pace, and after our first round of quizzes and an exam I’m completely embracing the mindset that even if I don’t end with an A, I’m learning endless information that will help me survive D1 year. We have big case study projects in lab coming up, and I chose an oral/dentistry specific case despite my prof’s warning that they’d require the most outside research and work to understand this new language of oral histology. I’ll take the challenge, though, because what a rare and refreshing thought that I actually get to study things applicable to my career.

Physics is still physics, management is just another business minor class that I don’t find incredibly great, but I do enjoy my Psalms and Wisdom Lit class and getting to know people better in our small class.

My new LifeGroup has been extremely welcoming, fun, passionate, and I already feel knit together with this new spiritual community.

My intramural volleyball team, the Serve-ivors made it to the second round of playoffs before losing a hard-fought game. We showed those sorority teams they aren’t the only ones who can play.

vball

Intramural flag football with ASDA (the pre-dental org I’m involved in) started up last week, and guess who the starting QB is? My pre-dent roommate and I made a pretty sweet team with several long completions last week, and my other roommate is joining us this week as an honorary member. We future dentists can be pretty sporty and had a marina social on Thursday, complete with sand volleyball and stand-up paddle-boarding on the Brazos. I’m loving the bigger membership this year and getting to know all the new freshman and sophomores. It’s really fun finally being the senior getting to share my words of wisdom and advice about what it really takes to get into dental school like my upperclassmen did for me. I’m actually taking on a role as somewhat of an “Academic Chair/Mentor” this year, and I’ll coordinate a few events or presentations on the real academic requirements, course recommendations, study habits, DAT advice, and just be a resource for all of the underclassmen applying in a few years. It’s hard to believe that in just a year’s time, I’ll be one of the dental students coming back to Baylor to share what life in dental school is really like to current ASDA members.

I could keep writing for hours just on the last month, but I’m headed to work anatomy open lab for my students’ upcoming practical this week. By the way, I’m loving my new job, getting to know everyone, and reviewing gross anatomy along the way. Winning all around.

Overall, I’ve been worlds more spontaneous this semester, and I don’t regret any of it. To be honest, studying has been put on the back burner, and soaking up every last second of my final year here has been totally worth it.

“Nothing says #collegelife like going to the best football game this week (year?) and being in downtown Dallas 2 hours later for a concert.” – @jessieprice11 on Twitter

Leave a Reply

